Skip to main content

WCU Stories

Communications and Media Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations

Western Carolina University’s Communications and Public Relations team, as a part of University Communications and Marketing, serves as the liaison between the university community and news media, and is responsible for releasing all university news with the exception of news related to WCU’s intercollegiate athletics program.

Our work is guided by the Integrated Marketing and Communications Plan, which was developed in response to the university’s 2020 Vision strategic plan mandate to “ensure that internal and external stakeholders alike are informed about the people, programs, priorities and progress of the university.”

Communications and Public Relations is located in Suite 420 in H.F. Robinson Administration Building on the WCU campus in Cullowhee, N.C. We can be reached by phone at 828.227.7327 and by snail-mail at this address:

University Communications and Marketing
420 H.F. Robinson Administration Building
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, NC 28723

Communications and Public Relations Staff

Bill Studenc
Director of Communications and Public Relations
828.227.3083
bstudenc@wcu.edu

 

Geoff Cantrell
Public Communications Specialist
828.227.3079
cgcantrell@wcu.edu 

Marlon Morgan
Public Communications Specialist
828.227.3077
mwmorgan@wcu.edu

 

Melanie McConnell
Feature Writer
828.227.2037
mthrelkeldmcconnell@wcu.edu

 

  

Department of Athletics Media Staff

Staff members in WCU’s Department of Athletics oversee news distribution for the university’s sports programs.

Daniel Hooker
Assistant Athletics Director for Media Relations
Contact for football, men’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s golf and baseball
828.227.2339
dhooker@wcu.edu

 

Denise Gideon
Director of Media Relations
Contact for women’s soccer, women’s basketball, softball and social media
828.227.2336
dgideon@wcu.edu

Sean Forrester
Director for Media Relations
Contact for cross country, volleyball, men’s basketball, women’s tennis, men’s indoor and outdoor track and field, women’s indoor and outdoor track and field
828.227.2655
stforrester@wcu.edu

 

Will Adams
Media Relations Video Coordinator
828.227.2458
rwadams@email.wcu.edu

Office of Web Services