Skip to main content

Scholarships & Aid

There are a variety of  program-specific scholarships available for students in both Engineering + Technology and Construction Management programs. Students are required to complete and file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for need-based scholarships. The university's Office of Financial Aid can give students complete information about other financial aid options, including grants, work-study and loans, as well as dates and deadlines for aid applications.

Scholarships in Engineering and Technology

The following Engineering and Technology scholarships are awarded in April each year. All scholarship application materials must be submitted annually by February 1 to the WCU Scholarship website available here . 

Carlton and Margaret Couch Scholarships - Awards are available to students majoring in electrical engineering and electrical and computer engineering technology.

Caterpillar Equipment Scholarship - Awards of up to $2,000 are available to outstanding, full-time engineering technology students. Preference is given to students from Cherokee, Clay, Jackson, Macon, and Swain counties.

Hopkins and Ray Engineering and Technology Endowed Scholarship - Endowed through the generosity of Jeffrey and Tina Ray, this scholarship provides support for first-year students with a declared major in engineering or engineering technology.  Preference will be given to students with demonstrated participation and success in FIRST Robotics competitions and a willingness and desire to lead FIRST efforts within the College of Engineering and Technology.

Jackson Paper Scholarship - Awards are available to outstanding full-time students in electrical engineering. Preference is given to students who are residents of Western North Carolina.

Joshua Thomas Grooms Scholarship - Provided in honor of a former WCU student. Full-time junior and senior engineering technology students who demonstrate financial need are eligible to apply. Applicants must complete a scholarship application form, including a brief essay about why they seek to obtain an engineering and technology education. Send or deliver the completed application to the Office of the Dean, 161 Belk Building. Recipients must have completed a FAFSA through WCU's Financial Aid Office.

Mary Lee McAllister Scholarship - This scholarship has been endowed in loving memory of Mary Lee McAllister by family members and colleagues.  It provides support for students who are a pursuing a degree in the area of electronics engineering technology. Eligibility Requirements: 3.0 GPA; major in Electronics Engineering Technology; junior or senior; involvement in electronics engineering technology program activities; financial need.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission - This scholarship is for full time sophomores, juniors or seniors pursuing a degree in Electric Power or Mechanical Engineering. Available beginning Fall 2017. Program participants will receive a $5,000 scholarship per semester (renewable each semester if academic milestones are met).

Stephen and Cathy Edmonds Scholarship - Endowed by Stephen Edmonds, this fund supports students who are majoring in engineering. Potential recipients will be actively involved in gas turbine studies or the gas turbine lab. Eligibility Requirements: 3.0 GPA; major in engineering; no sanctions in place at time of award; preference given to applications who are actively involved in gas turbine related studies or the gas turbine lab.

Thomas Andrew Scotchie Memorial Scholarship - Awards are given to an outstanding senior with the highest GPA in engineering technology.

Scholarships in Construction Management 

Scholarships for construction management students are offered through many construction industry associations; some are sponsored by companies specifically for CM majors at WCU. For details, contact the Kimmel School of Construction Management at 828.227.2201.

America's Homeplace Annual Scholarship - Established by the generosity of America's Homeplace, this scholarship provides support to students in the Construction Management program. Eligibility requirements:

  • Major in Construction Management

Harold Lee Raynor, Jr. Memorial Construction Management Scholarship - Established in honor of Harold Raynor by his son Brent and daughter-in-law Jamie, this scholarship provides support to students majoring in Construction Management. Raynor was a US Marine Corps veteran of the Vietnam War. He worked for Lowes for many years and following his retirement, he started his own residential building company and constructed custom homes and townhomes throughout South Carolina. This scholarship is intended to support students who are pursuing their own dreams in the field of Construction Management. Eligibility Requirements:

  • 2.75 GPA
  • Major in Construction Management
  • Undergraduate students
  • Full time enrollment (12 hours)
  • Financial need

Joe Kimmel Scholarship - Endowed through the generosity of Kimmel and Associates, Inc. this scholarship provides support for students majoring in Construction Management. Eligibility requirements:

  • 3.0 GPA 
  • Major in Construction Management
  • Preference given to students enrolled full time (12 hours UG, 9 hours GR)
  • Preference given to students with financial need

Shelco, LLC Scholarship - Endowed through the generosity of Shelco, LLC, this scholarship has been established to provide support to students in the Construction Management program. Eligibility requirements:

  • 2.5 GPA in preceding semester
  • Major in Construction Management
  • Rising junior
  • NC resident
  • Preference given to students from Mecklenburg, Forsyth, Guilford and Wake counties
  • Full time enrollment (12 hours)
  • Recipient will also participate in a paid summer internship at one of Shelco's offices in Charlotte, Winston-Salem or Raleigh
  • Applicants for this scholarship will be required to submit an essay outlining his/her future plans in the field on Construction Management
  • This scholarship is renewable for the student's senior year as long as the recipient continues to meet all eligibility criteria


Office of Web Services