Skip to main content

Paul Burton Seminar Series

Fridays 12:20-1:10
Zoom Link:  https://wcu.zoom.us/j/87189035490

August 27th – Organizational Meeting - Meeting in-person AP 201

September 3rd - (Zoom) EPA Region 4 Safe Drinking Water Branch (https://www.epa.gov/ground-water-and-drinking-water)

September 10th – (Zoom) Whitney Craig (https://www.researchgate.net/scientific-contributions/Whitney-R-Craig-2162524164), Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Lander University SC (metallo-proteins and antimicrobial natural products)

September 17th – (Zoom) Megan Hines (https://www.mriglobal.org/), Associate Scientist MRIGlobal, Charlottesville VA (independent, not-for-profit, contract research organization)

September 24th - (Zoom) Kate Foreman (https://www.med.unc.edu/genetics/directory/kate-foreman/), Clinical Assistant Professor & Genetic Counselor, UNC Med School

October 1st – (Zoom) Travis Seaborn (https://www.travisseaborn.com/), EPSCoR Postdoctoral Research Associate, U. Idaho (Community Ecology)

October 8th - (In Person) Rachel Bleich (https://biology.appstate.edu/news/fall-2020-dr-rachel-bleich), Assistant Professor, App State, (gut microbiome)

October 15th – (Zoom) Eria Rebollar (http://www.erialab.com/en/), Research Associate, Center for Genomic Sciences, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (Amphibian Microbiome, chytrid fungus)

October 22nd – No Seminar, Fall Break

October 29th - (In Person) Rebecca Hardman, UT-Knoxville Post-Doc, One Health Initiative - ecological health connections (https://onehealth.tennessee.edu/impacts/)

November 5th - (Zoom) Justin Chaffin (https://ohioseagrant.osu.edu/about/people/justin-chaffin), Research Coordinator Ohio Sea Grant, The Ohio State University (cyanobacterial blooms)

November 12th – (Zoom) Fatma Kaplan (https://www.pheronym.com/2021/08/15/dr-kaplan-selected-for-the-2021-isce-applied-chemical-ecology-award/ ), CEO/Co-founder Pheronym, (Pheromone pest control)

November 19th – (In Person) Harry Kurtz (https://www.clemson.edu/science/), Associate Professor, Clemson University (Microbial Ecology)

November 26th – No Seminar, Thanksgiving Break

December 3rd - (In Person) Charlie Sither, PhD student Reiskind/Wiegmann Lab (https://cals.ncsu.edu/entomology-and-plant-pathology/people/bwiegman), NCSU (Entomology)

December 10th – (In Person) Desi Hoagland, WCU MS Student, Dr. Luiz Da Silveira Lab

 

The Biology Department is grateful to the Paul Burton Fund and the J. Gerald Eller Scholarship and Lectureship Fund for assistance in underwriting the cost of this seminar series.

Office of Web Services