Emergency Medical Care (EMC) Program

The first Baccalaureate Emergency Medical Care (EMC) program in the nation, WCU's EMC Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs through the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the EMS Professions (CoAEMSP). The Program is one of the only institutions in the nation offering a unique Bachelor of Science (BS) degree dedicated to pre-hospital providers. Program options include both a residential program on our Cullowhee campus and an online option that’s convenient for working professionals. To participate in the Online (Distance) program, students must provide proof of state or National Registry paramedic certification, or completion of U.S. Army SOCM or 18D MOS.

EMC Residential Program
EMC Online Program

WCU EMC students concentrate in one of two areas: Health Management or Science (Pre Med).

  • Health Management Concentration: prepares graduates for leadership roles in healthcare, EMS administration positions, and graduate school.
  • Science/Pre-Med: prepares graduates for medical school, physician assistant programs, dental school, physical therapy programs, and graduate school.

WCU's EMC Program has a rich history of quality instruction in emergency medicine. Our graduates have pursued careers as paramedics, educators, physicians, physician assistants, researchers, and EMS administrators.

EMC Faculty

Our exceptional faculty members are available here on the Cullowhee campus and through our online EMC Program.

Name Role Contact Information
Jackson Déziel, PhD Program Director jddeziel@wcu.edu
828.227.3532
Susan Smith-Braithwaite, EdD Faculty ssbraithwaite@wcu.edu
828.227.2899
Denise Wilfong, PhD Faculty dwilfong@wcu.edu
828.227.3518
Evelyn Wilson, EdD Clinical Coordinator ewilson@wcu.edu
828.227.3519
Michael Hubble, PhD Faculty mhubble@wcu.edu
828.227.3516
Melisa McNeil Faculty mdmcneil@wcu.edu
828.227.2661
David Trigg, MD Professor Emeritus dtrigg@wcu.edu
Derek Harmon Medical Director derekharmon@wcu.edu
Taylor Aldridge Administrative Assistant/Sim Lab Technician taldridge@wcu.edu
Office of Web Services