Skip to main content

Contact the Graduate School

WCU Graduate School
1 University Dr.
110 Cordelia Camp
Cullowhee, NC  28723
828.227.7398
grad@wcu.edu

 Graduate School Staff

Brian Kloeppel

Brian Kloeppel, Dean and Chief Research Officer
bkloeppel@wcu.edu
(828) 227-3174

  • Promote and celebrate graduate student, graduate faculty, and graduate program successes at Western Carolina University
  • Facilitate the recruitment of high quality and a high quantity of students to our graduate programs
  • Advocate for and allocate graduate assistantship and graduate scholarship funds to Graduate Program Directors to facilitate active student experiences in research and teaching
  • Review, promote, and advocate for new graduate programs at Western Carolina University
  • Represent Western Carolina University on the University of North Carolina System Graduate Council

April Perry

April Perry, Interim Associate Dean, Graduate School
alperry@wcu.edu
(828) 227-3173

  • Coordinates graduate policy and chairs Graduate Council’s Graduate Faculty and Policy Review Committee
  • Works with Program Directors and Key Staff on academic matters related to graduate programs
  • Oversees graduate admissions and enrolled student services
  • Represents the Graduate School on several University-wide committees
  • Serves as Advisor for Graduate Student Association
Placeholder

Wil Bryan, Admission Specialist
wbryan@wcu.edu
(828) 227-3175

  • Graduate Application Processing
  • Student Support

Placeholder

Elizabeth Frazier, Student Services Specialist
efrazier@wcu.edu
(828) 227-3179

  • Graduate Assistantship Employment
  • Financial Assistance Administration
  • Graduate Council Administrator
  • Dismissal and Readmission after Dismissal
  • Course Overloads
  • Extension of Time Limit Requests
Bobbi Smith

Bobbi Smith, Admission Specialist
bobbismith@wcu.edu
(828) 227-2925

  • Application Processing
  • Student Support
  • Thesis/Disquisition Administrator

Jan Stanfield

Jan Stanfield - Administrative Associate
jmstanfield@wcu.edu
828-227-7398

  • Graduate School Communications
  • Transfer Credit Requests
  • Web Editor
  • Graduate School Events
  • General Applicant/Student Support

Placeholder

Roxane Stiles, Executive Assistant
rstiles@wcu.edu
828-227-3178

  • Budget manager for Graduate School and Research and Graduate Student Association
  • Graduate Catalog Administrator



Don Strickland

Don Strickland - Technical Support
dpstrickland@wcu.edu
828-227-3198

  • Graduate School and Research Technical Support
  • Campus Management Apply Yourself, Connect, And AppReview System Administrator
  • Graduate Program Open House Co-Ordinator
  • Data Collection
  • Data Analytics and Reporting

Rachel Walker

Rachel Walker - Director of Graduate Marketing & Recruiting
rwalker@wcu.edu
828-227-3176

  • Recruitment and Prospective Student Outreach
  • Marketing
  • Residency Redeterminations
  • Graduate Peer Service Award Manager
  • Social Media
Office of Web Services