Office of Institutional Planning and Effectiveness

About OIPE

WCU clock tower

 


The purpose of the Office of Institutional Planning and Effectiveness (OIPE) is to facilitate the integration of accountability, assessment, planning, and institutional research and to provide essential support to the Chancellor, Provost, and other University divisions for the advancement of WCU’s mission and the improvement of University programs and services. 

The goals of the OIPE include the following:

  • Invest in and maintain a quality decision support framework for campus leaders. The OIPE is committed to supporting university leaders in making informed and effective planning, programming, and fiscal decisions. To that end, OIPE manages and organizes the people and tools necessary to ensure access and usability of institutional data.
  • Enhance the accuracy and timeliness of university data.The utility of institutional data for decision-making hinges first and foremost on accuracy and timeliness. Furthering the OIPE’s potential as a reliable resource of campus data and expert analysis allows the unit to better service the information needs of the university.
  • Ensure high quality processes and procedures in support of institutional planning and effectiveness.The quality of institutional data depends on effective and efficient processes and procedures, which are wholly dependent on an environment characterized by collaboration and open communication. To that end, the OIPE is committed to developing and fostering relationships within the office and across a broad array of university divisions and external agencies. The OIPE will utilize those relationships to create new and refine existing business practices where appropriate and necessary.

Office of Institutional Planning and Effectiveness 
440 HFR
Cullowhee, NC 28723
828.227.7239 tel
828.227.7132 fax
oipe@wcu.edu

Timothy Metz
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Institutional Planning & Effectiveness
828-227-3046
tdmetz@wcu.edu

Pamela Buchanan
Executive Assistant
828-227-3038
pbuchanan@wcu.edu

Paul Hammer
Research Specialist
828-227-2570
pwhammer@wcu.edu

Billy Hutchings
Social Research Assistant
828-227-2413
wshutchings@wcu.edu

 

Alison Joseph
Business & Technology Applications Analyst
ajoseph@wcu.edu

Johnny Lail
Operations Research Analyst
828-227-3043
jmlail@wcu.edu

Kay Turpin
Business & Technology Applications Specialist
828-227-3041
turpin@wcu.edu

Steve Wallace
Director of Assessment
828-227-2580
srwallace@wcu.edu

 

"Power" Tools for IR Reporting (Workshop)

Hands-On Files Supplemental Exercise

Alison Joseph & Tim Metz
2015 Association for Institutional Research (AIR) Forum
May 25-29, 2015

 

Excel Power Tools

David Onder & Alison Joseph
2015 North Carolina Association for Institutional Research (NCAIR) Conference
April 13 - 14, 2015

 

See All Staff Presentations

Office of Web Services