Office of the Provost

Provost Alison Morrison-Shetlar

Provost Alison Morrison-Shetlar.

The Office of the Provost oversees all academic programs of the university, as well as a number of student support services. We hope whether you are a student considering WCU for study, a community member seeking to access expertise, or a faculty member weighing career options that you explore WCU’s rich and unique academic offerings. This is a university that places students and high academic quality at the center of everything we do. WCU supports a vibrant campus community packed with cultural, sports, and intellectual events, close mentoring relationships between faculty and students, and many opportunities for international study, service learning, community engagement and outdoor recreation. It is located in one of the most beautiful areas of the country, nestled within the Smoky Mountains. We seek local, regional, state, and national opportunities for partnerships to offer our significant intellectual resources for problem solving and to benefit from applied learning opportunities that our alumni and constituents can offer our students and faculty. It is great to be a Catamount, and we hope you will choose to get involved with Western Carolina University.

Many Academic Affairs questions can be answered by reviewing the  Academic Procedures and Regulations

Statement of Purpose

The purpose of the Division of Academic Affairs is to support the provision of varied and well-rounded educational programs at the bachelor's, master’s, educational specialist, and doctoral levels. These programs serve the needs of the people of the state and the region, as well as foster the development, preservation, dissemination and utilization of knowledge through effective teaching, learning, research, creativity, and service.

To accomplish its purpose, the academic area of the University is administratively organized into colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Education and Allied Professions, Fine and Performing Arts, Health and Human Sciences, and the Kimmel School of Construction Management and Technology.  The Honors College, Hunter Library, and the Graduate School are additional units in Academic Affairs.

Other units of the University which are administratively responsible to the Division of Academic Affairs are the Office of Undergraduate Studies (including the Center for Service Learning, Academic Success Centers, and Cooperative Education and Career Services, Advising, Academic Success Program and First Year Experience); Enrollment Management (including Financial Aid, the Registrar’s Office, One Stop, Student Support Services, and Disability Services); International Programs and Services; Educational Outreach (including the Cherokee Center and WCU Programs in Asheville); Summer Session; the Coulter Faculty Commons for Excellence in Teaching and Learning; the Program for the Study of Developed Shorelines and the Highlands Biological Station.

The Division of Academic Affairs has general responsibility for research administration (administratively located within the Graduate School and Research Division).  Graduate School and Research is responsible for providing information and services concerned with funded research, sponsored programs, and other grant/contract activities. The Division of Academic Affairs also provides oversight for special units such as the Public Policy Institute (administratively located in the College of Arts and Sciences); the Small Business and Technology Development Center (administratively located in the College of Business); the Center for Mathematics and Science Education, the Center for the Support of Beginning Teachers, the Office of Teacher Recruitment, Advising and Career Support (all administratively located in the College of Education and Allied Professions); the Fine and Performing Arts Center (administratively located in the College of Fine and Performing Arts); the Speech and Hearing Center and the Developmental Evaluation Center (administratively located in the College of Health and Human Sciences); and the Center for Rapid Product Realization (administratively located in the Kimmel School).

The Division of Academic Affairs cooperates with regional and state agencies, including area health organizations, community colleges and technical institutes, the State Department of Public Instruction, Appalachian Consortium, and others to meet educational needs of the region. It works with federal agencies in a variety of ways including the National Park Service and others from which substantial grants have been received. Through all of these centers, offices, and programs the University provides an administrative structure whereby services are provided to the region in cooperation with other community organizations and divisions.

Office of Web Services