Skip to main content

Academic Calendar

A working group in Division of Academic Affairs led by Provost Richard Starnes has been developing a comprehensive and evolving plan for the 2020-2021 academic experience. This plan is being created with the anticipation that we will be utilizing a variety of instructional arrangements with student success, faculty expertise and flexibilty, and staff support as our guides.

Please note that all plans may very well shift due to changing conditions. The last few months have shown that information and responses to new data about COVID-19 require a high level of flexibility and patience.

Spring 2021 Changes

The 2021 spring semester academic calender will include delaying the start of classes by two weeks, eliminating the traditional weeklong spring break and providing an abbreviated midterm break.

An abbreviated midsemester break has been scheduled to coincide with the Easter holiday, with no classes to be held Thursday, April 1, through Monday, April 5. The last day of classes for the spring semester is Friday, May 7, followed by final exams Saturday, May 8, through Friday, May 14.

Spring commencement ceremonies are tentatively set for Friday, May 14, and Saturday, May 15, although those dates are subject to change.

 
  • First day of classes: Monday, Jan. 25
  • Reading Day: Wednesday, Feb. 24 (no classes)
  • Advising Day: Tuesday, March 9 (no classes)
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a “W”: Friday, March 19
 
  • Midsemester break (no classes): Thursday, April 1; Friday, April 2; Monday, April 5
  • Last day of classes: Friday, May 7
  • Final exams: Saturday, May 8 – Friday, May 14
  • Commencement (tentative dates; subject to change): Friday, May 14, for graduate students; and Saturday, May 15, for undergraduates

See the full academic calendar

Course Instruction

Instruction for residential courses for the spring 2020 semester will be offered through a blend of face-to-face, online, hybrid, and modified hybrid course delivery.

Learn More

Office of Web Services