IRB Membership and Meetings

Institutional Review Board Membership

IRB Chair: Dr. Jamie Vaske, Criminal Justice (2016-2021)

IRB Membership:

  • Dr. Cathy Grist, Human Services (2017 - 2020)
  • Dr. Kim Gorman, CAPS (2017 - 2020)
  • Dr. Randy Provost, Community Member, Sylva Medical Center (2013-2018)
  • Dr. Yanjun Yan, Engineering and Technology (2018-2021)
  • Ms. Krista Schmidt, Hunter Library (2015-2021)
  • Dr. David Tyler, Sport Management (2015-2021)
  • Dr. Tom Ford, Psychology (2018-2021)
  • Dr. Justin Menickelli, School of Teaching and Learning (2017-2020)
  • Dr. David Hudson, Physical Therapy (2016-2019)
  • Dr. Shawn Collins, School of Nursing, (2016-2019)

Institutional Review Board Meeting Schedule

The Institutional Review Board meets on the schedule listed below to review protocols requiring full-board review.  Protocols that meet the criteria for exempt or expedited review are processed on an on-going basis, and reviewed by one IRB member assigned to your protocol.

The WCU IRB does not meet during the summer months.  Expedited and exempt protocols are continually reviewed during the summer, but no full-board reviews occur during the summer months.  Please plan accordingly to prevent delays in your research.

If you believe that your protocol may qualify for a full review, be sure to submit your completed application through IRBNet by the corresponding calendar date below: 

Spring 2018 Meeting Schedule 

Meeting Date Deadline to Submit for Full Review
January 23 January 9
February 28 February 14
March 27 March 13
April 26 April 12

If you have questions about if your protocol will require a full-board review, please do not hesitate to contact the Office of Research Administration at 828-227-7212 or

Office of Web Services