Skip to main content

Scholarship & Awards

Image of the mountains in summer


We had the pleasure of honoring and awarding scholarships and commendations to our students and faculty at this year’s College of Business Scholarship and Awards Ceremony. Fifty-four scholarships and awards totaling $208,822 were given to 114 deserving recipients!  Graduate scholarships awarded in September 2021 are also acknowledged on this page.

2022-23 Undergraduate Scholarships & Spring 2022 Awards

Advertising Federation of Western N.C. Endowed Scholarship

Clayton Huffman

Bradshaw Family College of Business Endowed Scholarship

Megan Powell

Bronce & Betty Ray Endowed Scholarship

Dean Benne; Lauren Biddix; Andrew Bryson; Dakota Gatti; Julian Lopez;

Carl David Coffee Accountancy Scholarship

Carmen Baucom

Chad M. Flynt Endowed Scholarship

Lucas Johnson

Clarence Claude Teagarden, Jr. Scholarship

Bryon Neumann

College of Business Alumni and Friends Scholarship

Elexa Bonafede; Jesica Rector-Esquivel

Cory David Spaugh Sport Management Association

Megan Powell; Zach Nelson; Victoria Ladd; Maya Kelnhofer; Gabby Isaacs

Daniel B. Yoe Family Scholarship

Jaqueline Rocha-Medellin

Dean Martin Endowed Scholarship

Logan Stocks

Dellinger Family Scholarship

Jacob Rook

Dennis Hull Armed Forces Annual Scholarship

Benjamin Richert

Dennis & Sheila Zink Endowed Scholarship

Jimena Rivera

Dixon Hughes Goodman Accountancy Scholarship, Undergraduate

  • Owen Crettol
  • Collin Davis
  • Jake Dutton
  • Sarah Erwin
  • Mary Faircloth
  • Daniel Figueroa
  • Caitryn Lowery
  • Matthew Turner
  • Gavin Williams
  • Kiersten Witters

Douglas C. Hummel

Carlton Mitchell

Duncan R. Tye Endowed Scholarship

Eric Brown; Brayden Farmer

Ed & Bertha Henson Reed Endowed Scholarship

Kylie Cox; Jacob Watson

Entegra Bank Scholarship

  • Dean Benne
  • Madison Brooks
  • Kylie Cox
  • Karina Hux
  • Dakota Mathis
  • Angelica Tagge

Ezell Family Annual Scholarship

Misti Hull

Frank H. and Rebecca Revis Brown Scholarship

Kaitlyn Houser

Freda Russell Rayburn Undergraduate Scholarship

Kylie Cox; Haley Gilmore; Maggie Grondy; Ali Schreiber; Libby Weitkamp

Grace Allen Memorial Scholarship

Christopher Perez-Hernandez

Hospitality Management Endowed Scholarship

Carley Evans

Independent Insurance Agents of NC Scholarship

Eric Brown; Sarah Erwin; Jamar Martin; Megan Powell; Isaac Roberts; Pierce Roberts

James W. Pearce Memorial Scholarship

Megan McIntosh

Jay Kneedler Endowed Scholarship

Wynand Booysen; Aaron Bradley; Alexander Dixon; Sarah Erwin; Merry Gebel; Luis Hemmer

Jennie Hunter Scholarship

Hannah Shepherd

John Fort

Jacqueline Rocha-Medellin; Shawn Smallwood; Wendy Suttles

Kenneth M. Hughes, Dixon Hughes Goodman Scholarship

Dakota Gatti

Laura & Phillip Sherrill Endowed Scholarship

Cameron Stevens

Mary & Charles Wayte

Marci Anderson; Jaymee Frole; Selma Hall; Holden Hunter; Nikki Simonie; Colton Smith; Kellsie Whitehead

Michael Morgan Memorial Scholarship

Julian Lopez; Angelica Tagge

Mitchell R. Crisp, Dixon Hughes Goodman Endowed Scholarship

Owen Cettol

RICOH USA, Inc. Endowed Scholarship

Veronica Funes

Rocky Johnson Scholarship

Jacob Younce

Roland Johnson Endowed Scholarship

Daniella Sanchez-Juarez

Schmudde Family Endowed Scholarship

Kyleigh Rica

Sherwin-Williams Company Scholarship

Maria Franca

Steve & Linda Reese Endowed Scholarship

Kassey Carrillo Ramirez

Susan Riddle Higgins Endowed Scholarship

Hope Page 

Ted and Frances Reese Endowed Scholarship

Monica Green; Cameron Kanetzke

Timothy Edward & Betsy Jones Gillespie Endowed Scholarship

Dakota Cassidy Gatti

WCU Sport Management Association Scholarship

John Moore

Wells Fargo Endowed Scholarship

Bryan Jarvis

William Kane Endowed Scholarship

Valentina Marko

Xena Bristol Forsyth Endowed Scholarship

Andrew Bryson

Undergraduate Outstanding Major

  • Accounting: Sabrina Martin
  • Business Administration and Law (Residential): Jesse Seger
  • Business Administration and Law (Distance): Brittany Anderson
  • Computer Information Systems: Andra Smail
  • Economics (minor): Maxwell Pitney
  • Finance: Hunter Osborne
  • Hospitality & Tourism: Kimberly Brunk
  • Innovation Leadership & Entrepreneurship (Residential): Casey Millsaps
  • Innovation Leadership & Entrepreneurship (Distance) Jaylen Burns
  • Management: Zanaya Salaam
  • Marketing: Zanaya Salaam
  • Sport Management: Leslie Hicks
  • Outstanding Senior Award: Zanaya Salaam

2020-21 Graduate Scholarships & Awards

John Beegle Alumni and Friends Graduate Scholarship

Miranda Chambers

Dixon Hughes Goodman Accountancy Graduate Scholarships

  • Jimmy Cabrera
  • Andrew Hall
  • Emma Hall


  • Austin Hughes
  • Courtney Ponder

Gould Killian CPA Group Graduate Scholarship

Matthew White

Johnson Price Sprinkle, PA Graduate Scholarship

Julia Goldsmith

Katelan Price Annual Scholarship

Luis Hemmer; John Shearin

Susan Swanger, CPA, Ph.D. Professional Accountancy Scholarship

Jessalyn Irvin

Freda Russell Rayburn Graduate Scholarship

  • Samantha Becker
  • Janay Boone
  • Jennifer Holub
  • Alexandria Kodek
  • Brittany Marshall
  • Erin Querns
  • Rebecca Thiry

Outstanding Graduate Awards

  • MAcc: Julia Goldsmith
  • MBA: Jaymee Frole
  • ME: Joseph Rudy
  • MPM:Rebecca Thiry
  • MSSM: Steven Delay

Faculty Awards

  • BB&T Faculty Reserach Award: Audrey Redford
  • BoG Creative and Innovative Teaching Award: Audrey Redford
  • Grace Allen Undergraduate Teaching Award: Audrey Redford
  • Graduate Faculty Teaching Award: Audrey Redford
  • Excellence in Research Award: Debra Burke
  • Engagement Award: Robert Lahm

2022 Faculty Summer Research Award Recipients

Anna Dai: Financial Performance of Socially Responsible Exchange-Traded Funds (ETF).  

Debra Burke: Threshold Concepts and Barriers to Learning in Undergraduate Business Law.

Josh Downs: What contextual factors contribute to the adoption of analytics-based approaches to competitive intelligence by Major League Baseball Teams?.

Kevin Fulk: Exploring the “Bright Side” of Technology Use.


Office of Web Services