Criminology and Criminal Justice Faculty & Staff

The faculty of the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice are committed to providing high-quality education in criminology and criminal justice, and emergency and disaster management to our majors, other students across the University, and to the professional community. The faculty are strongly committed to the life-long learning and professional development of our students and to facilitating their transition into the professional milieu.

Stephen E. Brown
Ph.D., Professor and Department Head

No photo available. Ms. Pipa Swentzel
Administrative Assistant

Robert T. Berry
Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Briggs_And_Laila Lisa Thomas Briggs
Ph.D., Professor
F. Frederick Hawley
Ph.D., Professor
Andrew Hansen

John "Andy" Hansen
Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Cynthia Caravelis Hughes
Ph.D., Associate Professor
Thomas Johnson
Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Al Kopak
Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Karen Mason
Ph.D., Associate Professor and Assistant Department Head

Carlie Merritt
M.S., Director, Emergency and Disaster Management Distance Learning Program

Ophir Sefiha
Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Jamie Vaske
Ph.D., Associate Professor
Aaron Vassey
M.S., Advising Coordinator, Distance Learning Programs


Part-Time Faculty
Bill Hollingsed M.P.A., Chief of Police, Waynesville, NC
Tamara Vander Day A.B.D., Investigator, Waynesville, NC
Allen Anderson Ph.D.
Keith Bell Ph.D.
J. Tom Morgan J.D.
David Conn M.S.
Jeanne Kaufman Ph.D.
John Mosbey M.A.
Terry Cox Ph.D.
Randy Egsegian M.Ed.
Office of Web Services