Advocate Award

What is an advocate?

Definition for WCU Students:

An advocate is someone who you know has your best interest in mind - someone who cares deeply about your success in and out of the classroom, someone you can count on to give you sound advice and someone you know will be in your corner.

We feel fortunate at WCU to have many different people that we believe fit this description! With their thoughtful nominations, our students help us recognize some of these wonderful advocates each year.

First Year and Transfer students are invited to nominate someone. 

Advocate Award Finalists for 2016-2017



Alesia Jennings, Chemistry & Physics WINNER of the 2016-2017 Advocate Award
Rachel Adams, English
Pamela Buskey, Teaching and Learning
Todd Collins, Political Science and Public Affairs
Channa De Silva, Chemistry and Physics
Mimi Fenton, English
Mariano Garrido-Lopez, Economics, Project Management
Daryl Hale, Philosophy and Religion
Andy Hansen, Criminology and Criminal Justice
Weaver Haney, Geosciences and Natural Resources
Sudhir Kaul, Engineering and Technology
Bill Kwochka, Chemistry and Physics
Erin McNellis, Mathematics and Computer Science
Joshua Russell, Stage and Screen
John Wagaman, Mathematics and Computer Science


Ken Pfaff, Advising Center, WINNER of the 2016-2017 Advocate Award
Alicia Cameron, Advising Center
Durand Capers, Advising Center
Lydia Cook, Advising Center
Kloo Hansen, Provost's Office
Ben Kearns, Math Tutoring Center
Ken Pfaff, Advising Center
Emily Sharpe, The Honors College


Faculty and Staff Advocate Award Hall of Fame

Will Shivers Staff, Advising 2010-11
Burt Ogle Faculty, Environmental Science 2011-12
Brian Boyer Staff, Residential Living 2011-12
Rebecca Lasher Faculty, Social Work 2012-13
Lane Perry Staff, Service Learning 2012-13
Windy Gordon Faculty, Psychology 2013-14
Sarah Carter Staff, Intercultural Affairs 2013-14
David Starnes Faculty, Music 2014-15
Tacquice Davis Staff, Intercultural Affairs 2014-15
Tara Peterson Faculty, Athletic Training 2015-16
Veratta Pegram-Floyd Staff, Residential Living 2015-16
Alesia Jennings Faculty, Chemistry & Physics 2016-17
Ken Pfaff Staff, Advising 2016-17

View all FYE Advocate Nominees for 2016-2017

Office of Web Services