Skip to main content

Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Western North Carolina, Inc.

Contact:

Leila Duncan, Executive Director

Mailing Address:

50 South French Broad, Room 213
Asheville, NC 28801

Phone Number:

828-253-1470

Fax Number:

828-253-5403

Email Address:

Avery County: amandaw@bbbswnc.org
Buncombe County: buncombe@bbbswnc.org
Burk County: burke@bbbswnc.org
Cashiers/Highlands: cashiers@bbbswnc.org
Cherokee: Cherokee@bbbswnc.org
Clay County: clay@bbbswnc.org
Graham County: graham@bbbswnc.org
Haywood/Madison County: haywood@bbbswnc.org
Henderson County: morganh@bbbswnc.org
Jackson County: jackson@bbbswnc.org
McDowell/Mitchell: amandaw@bbbswnc.org
Polk County: polk@bbbswnc.org
Rutherford County: rutherford@bbbswnc.org
Swain County: swain@bbbswnc.org
Transylvania County: transylvania@bbbswnc.org
Yancey County: amandaw@bbbswnc.org 

Website Address:

http://www.bbbswnc.org/

Office Hours:

8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Location:

Take Hwy 107 through Sylva, turn right at Bogart's, and follow signs to Asheville. Take I-240 West, then take the Patton Ave., exit. Turn right onto South French Broad. The building is less than a block on the left at 50 S. French Broad St.

Agency Description:

Big Brothers Big Sisters is a mentoring program which emphasizes one-on-one interaction between a 'Big' and a 'Little'.

Training:

Will be provided by the agency.

Time Commitment:

School mentors meet once a week for the school year; Community mentors meet at least twice a month for a minimum of one year.

Skills, Experience, and Special Requirements:

Anyone who has the time and the interest in forming a positive relationship with a child can apply.

Volunteer Involvement:

Mentors, also known as "Bigs," are asked to be a friend and a role model for their "Little." The purpose of one-on-one mentoring is to ignite the potential in youth. This can be done by doing a variety of activities together: such as sports, hiking, biking, or taking a walk in the park. With having that mentor in their life, the "Little" will learn to grow personal skills, feel more confident in areas they might struggle in, and tend to do better in school.

If interested in volunteering, you can email any of the program coordinators listed above or visit our website to obtain more information or an application.

Office of Web Services