Service Learning Awards and Events

Service Learning Awards

Service Learning Awards


At our annual service learning awards ceremony, the Center for Service Learning recognizes students, faculty, staff, and community partners for their outstanding service. Major awards are presented in nine categories. The awards are given on the third or fourth Thursday of April. The 2018 awards ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, April 19.

The Inclusive Education Program received the Leading Light Award for 2017. This award symbolizes the highest achievement among Western’s academic departments in integrating service learning into the curriculum. Marissa Ray, Kelly Kelley, and Dale Carpenter accepted the award on April 20. See the list of past award winners.

Award Nomination Forms

Lily Community Engagement Award


Community Service Learning Fair

Service Learning Fair Participants 2017


More details coming soon about the next Service Learning Fair. 

This Fair gives community groups a chance to promote themselves, their events and mission to the university community. It is a great opportunity for students, faculty, and staff to learn more about local organizations and service opportunities in our area.

If your group would like to be included in the next Service Learning Fair, please complete the application.

Questions? Email Jennifer Cooper at

Office of Web Services