Skip to main content

News & Highlights

2018-2019 Awards Program

Sunday, April 28, 2019 is the day for the Annual Greek Awards Banquet.  Details on the 2018-2019 Awards can be found here.

2018 Apple polishing award recipients

On March 21, 2018, the Theta Pi Chapter of the National Order of Omega Greek Leadership Honor Society hosted the Apple Polishing Faculty & Staff Awards Recognition Ceremony.   Eighteen (18) members of the WCU Faculty & Staff received recognition for Meritorious Service to the university community.  WCU Fraternity & Sorority members would like to again thank all of the award recipients for their ongoing good work on campus. 

Dr. Robert Ferguson (History) - Omega Zeta Chapter Pi Lambda Phi Fraternity
Dr. April Perry (Higher Education Student Affairs) - Theta Omicron Chapter Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority
Lawrence Trautman, J.D. (Business Law) - Gamma Epsilon Chapter Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity
Tacquice Davis (Intercultural Affairs) - Nu Zeta Chapter Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Savannah Matherly (Residential Living) - Zeta Omega Chapter Alpha Chi Omega Sorority
Michael Corelli (Campus Activities) - NC Omega Chapter Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity
Leslie Cavin (Campus Activities) - Zeta Xi Chapter Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
James Hartbarger (Dining Services) - Beta Zeta Chapter Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity
Dr. Lowell Davis (Student Success) - Kappa Sigma Chapter Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
Jeanne Dulworth (Social Work) - Epsilon Gamma Chapter Alpha Xi Delta Sorority
Donnie Bradley (Transportation) - Kappa Gamma Chapter Sigma Chi Fraternity
Dr. Brandi Hinnant-Crawford (Educational Research) - Kappa Alpha Chapter Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Joel McKenzie (Information Security) - Kappa Phi Chapter Theta Xi Fraternity
Dr. Ellen Sigler (Psychology) - Gamma Mu Chapter Phi Mu Sorority
Carleen Cecero (Dining Services) - Theta Iota Chapter Delta Zeta Sorority
Anquell McCollum (Athletics) - Theta Lambda Chapter Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
Dr. Kevin Koett (Student Affairs) - Eta Iota Chapter Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity
Dr. Alison Morrison-Shetlar (Acting Chancellor) - Delta Omicron Chapter Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity

Image of an apple



2018 GSED award recipients

GSED held our annual banquet to recognize individual member and chapter excellence within the fraternity and sorority community at WCU on April 27, 2018.  Multiple awards were announced by student leaders and staff recognizing outstanding work and service throughout the year.  Congratulations to all Fraternity Men, Sorority Women, and WCU Chapters for your work serving others and helping advance Fraternity and Sorority Life at WCU! 

Outstanding New Sorority Initiate of the Year Award
Kaitlyn Alston, Sister, Alpha Xi Delta Sorority
Outstanding New Fraternity Initiate of the Year Award
Marshall Beaty, Brother, Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity
OOO Outstanding Emerging NPHC Leader of the Year Award
Kavin Pryor, Brother, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated
OOO Outstanding Emerging IFC Leader of the Year Award
Austin Truitt, Brother, Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity
OOO Outstanding Emerging CPC Leader of the Year Award
Samantha Carter, Sister, Delta Zeta Sorority
Community Service Project of the Year Award
“American Red Cross Blood Drives” – Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity – American Red Cross
Most Engaged Greek Member of the Year Award
Matt Smart, Brother Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity
Philanthropic Event of the Year Award
“Are you Buff Enough” – Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority – Fighting Hunger
LC Carmondy Advisor of the Year Award
Anquell McCollum, Campus Advisor, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity
Educational Program of the Year Award
“Annual Martin Luther King Jr. March” – Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated
Chapter Officer of the Year Award
Dillon Anderson, Brother, Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity
Outstanding Alumni Engagement Award
Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity
Chapter President of the Year Award
Mary Brown, Sister, Alpha Chi Omega Sorority
Sorority Woman of the Year Award
Bailey Baker, Sister, Alpha Xi Delta Sorority
Fraternity Man of the Year Award
Davis Wilson, Brother, Sigma Chi Fraternity
Most Improved Chapter of the Year Award
Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority
Chapter of Excellence Awards
Phi Mu Sorority
Alpha Xi Delta Sorority
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated
Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity
Sigma Chi Fraternity
NPHC Chapter of the Year Award
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated
CPC Chapter of the Year Award
Phi Mu Sorority
IFC Chapter of the Year Award
Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity
Overall Chapter of the Year Award (President’s Cup)
Phi Mu Sorority

Office of Web Services