Skip to main content

Mountain Heritage Awards

WCU's Mountain Heritage Award is given "in recognition of outstanding contributions to the preservation or interpretation of the history and culture of Southern Appalachia; or in recognition of outstanding contributions to research in, or interpretation of, Southern Appalachian issues." Award winners are chosen by a special committee of regional and campus representatives.

What should the nomination include? (In less than 5 printed pages, excluding photos)

  1. Outline the nominee’s accomplishments
  2. Describe the nominee’s impact on their field, such as crafts, music, or a social or environmental cause
  3. Explain the nominee’s role as a teacher, advocate, leader or preserver of mountain culture and heritage
  4. List the nominee’s awards or other recognitions
  5. Provide links to online support materials (optional)

Bob Plott receives award from Dr. Kelli Brown

Bob Plott receives the 2023 Mountain Heritage Award from Chancellor Kelli R. Brown.

Download this information and form for application information: 


Dr. Kelli Brown with Affrilachain Artists ProjectFront row: Marie Cochran holding 2023 Mountain Heritage Award, Selma Sparks
Back Row: Ellerna Forney, Ann Miller Woodford, Chancellor Kelli R. Brown


List of Award Winners

2023 Affrilachian Artist Project (group)

2023 Bob Plott (individual)

2022 Butch and Louise Goings (individual)

2022 Cowee School Arts and Heritage Center (group)

2021 Western North Carolina Historical Association (group)

2021 Dr. Bill Turner (individual)

2019 Cashiers Historical Society (group)

2019 Bill Crawford (individual)

2018 Penland Contracting (group)

2018 Ann Miller Woodford (individual)

2017 Folk Heritage Association of Macon County (group)

2017 Helen Cable Vance (individual)

2016 Dogwood Crafters (group)

2016 George Frizzell (individual)

2015 Mountain Faith (group)

2015 R. O. Wilson (individual)

2014 Bethel Rural Community Organization (group)

2014 Davy Arch (individual)

2013 Catch the Spirit of Appalachia (group)

2013 Susan Leveille (individual)

2012 Jackson County Genealogical Society (group)

2012 Rob Tiger (individual)

2011 Stecoah Valley Center (group)

Chancellor David Belcher and Lloyd Arneach

Chancellor David Belcher and Lloyd Arneach MHD 2011

2011 Lloyd Arneach (individual)

2010 Shindig on the Green (group)

2010 Annie Lee Bryson (individual)

2009 Great Smoky Mountains National Park (group)

2009 Amanda Swimmer (individual)

2008 Green Grass Cloggers (group)

2008 Gar Mosteller and Doyle Barker (individual)

2007 Warriors of Ani-Kituah (group)

2007 Arvil Freeman (individual)

2006 The Deitz Family

2005 Haywood Community College Professional Crafts Program

2004 Walker Calhoun

Tried Stone Young Adult Choir

Tried Stone Young Adult Choir MHD 1987

2003 Ray Hicks

2002 Mountain Dance and Folk Festival

2001 Young Adult Choir, Tried Stone Missionary Baptist Church

2000 Southern Highland Craft Guild

1999 Mary Jane Queen and the Queen Family

1998 Museum of the Cherokee Indian

1997 Cradle of Forestry in America

1996 Robert Bushyhead

Bea Hensley at Mountain Heritage Day

Bea Hensley at MHD 1994

1995 Bea Hensley

1994 William Douglas Davis

1993 John C. Campbell Folk School

1992 Qualla Arts and Crafts Mutual

1991 Hugh Morton

1990 Joe Parker Rhinehart

1989 Mary Cornwell

1988 Mars Hill College

1987 Jackson County Historical Association

1986 Mary Ulmer Chiltosky

1985 Penland School of Crafts

1984 Old Buncombe Genealogical Society

1983 John B. Battle

1982 Douglas James Ferguson

1981 Asheville Citizen-Times Publishing Co.

Jane and Henry Greene

Henry Arvel Greene and Jane Parton Greene at the Mountain Farm Museum, Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

1980 Henry Arvel Greene and Jane Parton Greene

1979 H. F. Robinson

1978 Leona T. Hayes

1977 Cherokee Historical Association

1976 John Parris

Office of Web Services