Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The WCU Alumni Association's more than 70,000 members have been divided into five geographical districts. All WCU alumni are eligible and encouraged to vote in each district race, including races representing areas other than those in which the alumnus lives.

Any member of the WCU Alumni Association may nominate candidates of their choice provided the candidate meets requirements for membership of the association.

For information on candidate requirements, contact the Engagement Office.

Current Board of Directors

North Carolina District 1

Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford, Polk, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey counties.

Cindi Simmons; Webster, NC 
Jim Buchanan; Clyde, NC 
Myra Grant; Skyland, NC
John Connet; Hendersonville, NC
Tommy White; Cullowhee, NC
Barbra Hyde; Fairview, NC

North Carolina District 2

Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Catawba, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Union and Yadkin counties.

Kristin Wright; Conover, NC 
Gerald Austin; Summerfield, NC
Eddie Burks; Asheboro, NC
Kam A. McDonald; Wadesboro, NC
Beth Ludwig; Lincolnton, NC
Vicky Faris; Gastonia, NC
Mitch Treadaway; Clemmons, NC
George Hudson; Charlotte, NC

North Carolina District 3

Bladen, Chatham, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Vance, Wake, Warren and Wilson counties.

Lizzy Thier; Raleigh, NC
Allison Hinson; Chapel Hill, NC - President 
Doug Palmer; Holly Springs, NC
Michael Naylor; Raleigh, NC
Dominic Orlando; Youngsville, NC
Heather Jones; Mebane, NC
Richard "Dick" Freeman; Raleigh, NC

North Carolina District 4

Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrell, Washington and Wayne counties.

Tyler Tyndall; LaGrange, NC
Kate Oelslager; Wilmington, NC
Ed Cody; Ocracoke, NC
Beverly Barr; Jacksonville, NC

Out-of-State District 5

All states except North Carolina.

Darius Ramsey; Dallas, TX 
Whitney Wilson; Montgomery Village, MD
Julia Durham McManus; Cloverdale, VA
Phillip McManus; Cloverdale, VA
Keith Elliott, Sr; Knoxville, TN
Jeff Dowswell; Mount Juliet, TN
Barry Karesh; Plano, TX
Darrin Hemphill; Garland, TX
Todd Blosser; Powder Springs, GA

Office of Web Services