University Scholar Award

2018 Winner Brian Gastle

2018 Winner Brian Gastle

The University Scholar Award is designed to recognize research and creative activities. This award is given to a faculty member who has achieved a position of prominence in his or her discipline through creative research activities. Examples of distinguished achievements include research, publications, grant receipts, art exhibitions, works of art, fine arts performances, and literary works. More information about this award can be found at the Office of Research.

Award Criteria

Nominees must be full-time tenured or tenure track faculty who have been employed at Western Carolina University for at least 3 years. Previous winners are not eligible for five years. Nominees may not hold an administrative position above Department head level. An awards subcommittee of the Faculty Scholarship Advisory Council will review the portfolios and transmit a recommendation to the Dean of Graduate School and Research to the Chancellor.

Previous Winners

2018 Brian Gastle    
2017 Vittal Anantatmula   2016 Alvin Malesky  2015 Laura Wright 
2014 Billy T. Ogletree 2013 P. Bradley Ulrich  2012 Robert F. Mulligan
2011 Christopher Cooper 2010 H. Gibbs Knotts 2009 Jayne Zanglein
2008 Mario Gaetano, Jr. 2007 James Thompson 2006 Mimi Fenton
2005 Hal Herzog 2004 Brian Railsback 2003 James W. Carland
2002 James T. Costa 2001 Rob Young 2000 Sabine J. Rundle
Office of Web Services