Skip to main content

Star Staff Award


2024 Winner Chris  Ray

A special $2,000 cash award will be given each year to recognize an SHRA or EHRA non-faculty employee who has demonstrated consistent, exceptional service and has helped energize and enhance staff spirit and morale. Recipients must be permanent employees who have demonstrated consistent, exceptional service to and a positive attitude toward students, staff and their work; a willingness to go beyond the expectations of the job; a superior work performance; and a cooperative spirit that inspires and engages others in their work.

Award Criteria

All current SHRA and EHRA non-faculty employees who are permanent, full-time at WCU as of December 31st of the prior year are eligible. Those in doubt of an employee's eligibility may contact Office of Human Resources. Previous recipients will not be eligible for this award for a period of five years. Any current WCU faculty, staff or student may make one nomination per year and each nominator must complete an individual nomination form for the current year. Group endorsements, petitions, and campus-wide letter campaigns to solicit nominations in support of any employee are not permitted. Persons nominated for the award may not participate in the selection of the award winner. Nominations should be submitted through the integrated awards process, however, a hard copy nomination form is available. Each nomination must include a minimum of two paragraphs supporting the nomination and include the nominator's name and title. Incomplete nominations will not be accepted by the committee. The selection committee will be composed of: one SHRA or EHRA non-faculty employee from each division: Academic Affairs, Administration and Finance, Chancellor's Division, Student Affairs, the previous chair of the committee, and a previous recipient. Appointments to the committee will be made by the Chancellor/Chancellor's designee. Appointments in the following job classifications are encouraged: Executive/Administrative, Professional, Technical, Clerical/Secretarial, Craftsmen and Maintenance/Service. Each committee member, with the exception of the previous year's recipients, will serve for a period of two years.

Previous Winners

2023 Christy Ashe 2022 Brian Boyer 2021 Linda Shuler
2020 Tom Frazier 2019 Chelsea Reavis 2018 Al Webster
2017 Mark Haskett 2016 Dawn Brown 2015 Brian Boyer
2014 Margaret L. Watson 2013 Joshua G. Whitmore 2012 Andy Degrove
2011 Barbara L. Schade 2010 Amy L. McKenzie 2009 William Carter
Office of Web Services