Skip to main content

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

AlvinMalesky20242024 Winner Alvin Malesky


The Board of Governor's Award for Excellence in Teaching was created in 1994 to encourage, identify, recognize, reward, and support excellence in teaching within the university.  A cash award of $12,500 per year and a bronze medallion created especially for the award are given to sixteen recipients, one from each institution, at an annual recognition luncheon hosted by the Board of Governors in the spring.

The Director of the Coulter Faculty Commons, or the director's designee, will convene the committee, act as recorder, and report the committee's recommendations to the Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee. 
 Learn more about the Board of Governor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Committee, or submit a nomination.

Previous Winners

2023 Yanjun Yan 2022 Sudhir Kaul 2021 Catherine Carter
2020 Jen Schiff 2019 John Whitmire 2018 Laura Wright
2017 Julie Johnson-Busbin 2016 Carmen Huffman 2015 Alexander Macaulay
2014 Annette Debo 2013 Christopher A. Cooper 2012 Lisa Briggs
2011 Aaron K. Ball 2010 H. Gibbs Knotts 2009 Sean O'Connell
2008 Will Peebles 2007 Julia Barnes 2006 L. Scott Philyaw
2005 Le Von Wilson 2004 Mimi Fenton 2003 Grace Allen
2002 Kathy Ivey 2001 Gayle Miller 2000 Gary Pool


For additional information on this award please visit SharePoint or call the Coulter Faculty Commons at 828.227.7196.

Office of Web Services