Skip to main content

Search Committee

Beautiful bright day with a view of WCU's alumni tower


The 21-member committee leading the search for Western Carolina University’s next chancellor is made up of members from the WCU Board of Trustees along with various stakeholders from WCU, the community, and the region.

The search committee is charged with scheduling of open forums to solicit input from members of the university’s various constituencies – faculty, staff, students, alumni, and the community, building the Leadership Profile based on the feedback received from the constituents, and will recommend finalists to the full WCU Board of Trustees. 

After evaluating the committee’s slate of candidates, the WCU trustees will recommend the unranked candidates to University of North Carolina System President Margaret Spellings for consideration or will return the slate of candidates to the search committee for further action. Following her evaluation of the candidates, Spellings will then recommend one finalist to the University of North Carolina Board of Governors for approval.

Search Committee Members

Search Committee Co-Chairs

  • Patricia B. Kaemmerling, chair of the WCU Board of Trustees
  • Bryant Kinney, vice chair of WCU’s trustees.

Search Committee Members

  • Gorham Bradley, former director of the WCU Catamount Club and current commercial risk adviser for Stanberry Insurance of Western North Carolina.
  • Casey Cooper, CEO, Cherokee Indian Hospital and WCU trustee.
  • Keith Corzine, WCU assistant vice chancellor for campus services in the Division of Student Affairs.
  • Ken Hughes, chairman, Dixon Hughes Goodman.
  • George Little, a former member of the WCU Board of Trustees and current member of the UNC Pembroke Board of Trustees.
  • Kellie Angelo Monteith, WCU assistant vice chancellor for health and wellness in the Division of Student Affairs.
  • Ricardo Nazario-Colon, WCU chief diversity officer.
  • Kenny Messer, member, WCU Board of Trustees.
  • Chris Parrish, WCU associate director of undergraduate admissions.
  • Robin Pate, past president of the WCU Alumni Association.
  • Bob Roberts, secretary, WCU Board of Trustees.
  • Brandon Robinson, chair of the WCU Board of Visitors.
  • David Shapiro, retired WCU Robert Lee Madison Distinguished Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders.
  • Katherine Spalding, member, WCU Student Government Association.
  • Wes Stone, WCU associate professor of engineering and technology.
  • Vicki Szabo, WCU associate professor of history.
  • Teresa Williams, former chair of the WCU Board of Trustees.
  • Bill Yang, WCU associate professor of electrical engineering and former Faculty Senate chair.

Non-Voting Member

  • David PowersUNC Board of Governors
Office of Web Services