CULLOWHEE - Students and faculty are invited to nominate Western faculty for the 2004-05 Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award Nov. 1-12. Nominees must hold faculty status at the rank of instructor or above and be in at least her/his third year of teaching at Western. Faculty who have received the award during the past five years are ineligible (Gibbs Knotts, Mimi Fenton, Terry Nienhuis, Kathy Ivey, and Marsha Lee Baker).

Student and faculty nominations will help identify five finalists from which a committee of students and faculty will select the recipient of this annual award for excellence in teaching.  The committee's review will consist of observation of teaching and examination of materials submitted by each finalist.  The recipient will receive a $1,000 honorarium and an engraved plaque at the annual faculty awards convocation, as well as recognition at graduation and other campus events.

However, the primary reward is the recognition of the recipient's contributions to the university. Students are encouraged to nominate professors who effectively created significant learning experiences and outcomes for them; faculty are encouraged to nominate colleagues who epitomize the profession of teaching.

The selection committee conducts a thorough review of the candidates who have received the highest combined numbers of faculty and student nominations. Thus, it is important for both students and faculty to submit nominations

All nominations will be made electronically. In order to nominate up to three (3) faculty members for the award, simply go to the electronic nomination page at  The nomination period ends at 4 p.m., Friday, November 12.

Maintained by the WCU Office of Public Relations
Last modified: Friday, October 29, 2004
Copyright 2004 by Western Carolina University