World Languages Department

 

The Department of World Languages offers you the world.

Our programs not only build and broaden language skills, but also expose you to the rich culture and history of the world’s people and places. Our comprehensive and intensive range of courses allows for the study of a wide variety of languages and cultures, including Cherokee, French, German, Japanese and Spanish.

We offer several undergraduate academic programs that include a major in Spanish and minors in GermanJapanese, and Spanish.

In addition to your curricular pursuits, you’ll find any number of special opportunities and events to get involved in—including student-run organizations, Study Abroad, Hispanic Heritage Month, and the Foreign Language Contest for High School Students, to name but a few.

Whether your passion is absorbing the cultures of the world or teaching foreign language or second language learners, the Department of World Languages offers you the world.

Faculty and Staff

Our faculty have a wide range of expertise, experience, interests and connections. The small size of most classes in the World Languages Department means there is plenty of opportunity for interaction between teacher and student.

Name Email Phone and Office
Lori Oxford, Department Head lfoxford@wcu.edu 828-227-2769
McKee 118
Melissa Allen, Administrative Associate mallen@wcu.edu 828-227-7241
McKee 118
Tom Belt tbelt@wcu.edu 828-227-2721
McKee 105A
Alberto Centeno-Pulido acentenopulido@wcu.edu 828-227-3782
McKee 128A
Mark Couture mcouture@wcu.edu   828-227-3973
McKee 131C
Garrett Fisher gdfisher@wcu.edu   828-227-3906
McKee 132B
Santiago García-Castañón sgarcia@wcu.edu   828-227-3500
McKee 127
Will Lehman welehman@wcu.edu  828-227-3761
McKee 128B
Felicia Malissen fjmalissen@wcu.edu   828-227-3873
McKee 131A
Soichiro Motohashi smotohashi@wcu.edu   828-227-3758
McKee 131B
Yumiko Ono yono@wcu.edu 828-227-3859
McKee 126
Office of Web Services