John Hurt Fisher Prize

John Gower

MS Hunter 59 T-2-17 Portrait of Gower folio 6v John Gower Vox Clamantis Glasgow Univ Library

Now Accepting Nominations

The Society's highest honor, the Fisher Prize for "significant contribution to the field of John Gower Studies" is awarded annually at the Medieval Congress in Kalamazoo, MI.

How to Nominate

Send names of potential candidates and a brief statement supporting and/or explaining your nomination to:

R. F. Yeager, Univ. of West Florida
Dept. of English and Foreign Language
11000 University Pkwy, Pensacola FL 32514

2012 Selection Committee

  • President of the John Gower Society
    • R.F. Yeager, Univ. of West Florida
  • Previous Year's Prize Winner
    • Andrew Galloway, Cornell University
  • Graduate Student Representative
    • Annika Farber, Penn State University
David Carlson John Gower; Poems on Contemporary Events David Carlson and R. F. Yeager

Prior Recipients

  • 1991 Derek A. Pearsall
  • 1992 Masayoshi Ito
  • 1993 Russell A. Peck
  • 1994 William Burton Wilson
  • 1995 Kurt Olsson
  • 1996 Winthrop Wetherbee
  • 1997 Sian Echard and Claire Fanger
  • 1998 Peter Nicholson
  • 2000 R.F. Yeager
  • 2001 Maria Bullon-Fernandez
  • 2002 NO AWARD
  • 2003 James Simpson
  • 2004 Diane Watt
  • 2005 Sian Echard
  • 2006 Russell A. Peck
  • 2007 Peter Nicholson
  • 2008 J. Allan Mitchell
  • 2009 Andy Galloway
  • 2010 Kurt Olsson
  • 2011 John Burrow
  • 2012 David R. Carlson

"I throw my darts and shoot my arrows at the world. But where there is a righteous man, no arrow strikes. But I wound those who live wickedly. Therefore let him who recognizes himself there look to himself."
Vox Clamantis

Site Hosting Provided Compliments of Western Carolina University
Site Maintained by Dr. Brian W. Gastle
For Site Emendations please email
How to Cite Information from the John Gower Society Web Site