Residential Living

Residential Life

 

Welcome to Residential Living—university life at its fullest! While college is first an academic experience, it’s also a social experience since you’re making a new home and meeting new people—and WCU's residential communities are a great place to start. Our mission is to provide clean, safe, and healthy living environments that enhance and support the educational mission, goals and creed of the university. We strive to create living and learning communities where students feel valued as individuals and where diversity and fellowship with others can be celebrated. While maintaining a high level of quality service, we also encourage and provide opportunities for personal growth and development of character, leadership, honesty, respect, and pride.

Campus life is greatly enhanced by the comforts, conveniences, and experiences that living in a residence hall provides. Studies of college and university students across the country have shown that students who live on campus have higher graduation rates, higher GPAs, and report a greater satisfaction with their collegiate experience.

2016-17 Room Rates (proposed)

  Single Room Double Room
Standard Housing $2,899  $2,219
Balsam/Blue Ridge Hall $3,481  $3,024
Central Drive Hall $3,014  $2,442
Harrill Hall    $2,609
Madison Hall $3,217  $2,817
Noble Hall $3,375  $2,875
Norton Road Hall $3,077  $2,849
Reynolds Hall    $2,400
Robertson    $2,364
The Village    $2,828

* Standard Housing includes Albright-Benton, Scott and Walker

Room Assignments

We know that making room assignments that benefit each student is one of the most critical steps to ensure that your time living on our campus is enjoyable and productive. Be sure to complete all the form fields because the more we know about you, the better match we can find for you. Our portal aloft.wcu.edu provides everything you need to get started.

New Students

To select your desired building, meal plan, and roommate characteristics, please visit onlinehousing.wcu.edu.
Detailed Instructions 

Get Involved in Residential Living

Living in the residence halls is an integral part of your college career. On-campus living provides students greater opportunities to become involved with the university, to meet and develop relationships with a greater variety of people, and to participate in a living experience that is unique to university life. Take advantage of the various activities offered to students both in the residence halls and around campus.

Western Carolina Peaks

Western Carolina PEAKS is the first-year residential experience at Western Carolina University. As a student living on campus, you are automatically a part of Western Carolina PEAKS program and all of its benefits; special programs, opportunities to make a difference, and the ability to grow and learn with your fellow peers. 

LEARN MORE

Extremes

EXTREMES is designed to provide all WCU sophomores and juniors with resources and programs that support a fulfilling college experience and keep you on track toward graduation and your long-term goals. More specifically, EXTREMES aims to help students:

  • Increase self-efficacy
  • Integrate skills toward future goals
  • Increase engagement in learning
  • Develop group identity and attachment to WCU
  • Enhance personal and professional identity   

 LEARN MORE

National Residence Hall Honorary (NRHH)

The purpose of NRHH is to provide recognition for those students living in the residence halls who have shown outstanding service and who have provided important leadership in the advancement of the residence halls.  NRHH also acts as a resource for the groups desiring information about programming and leadership in the residence halls. For more information, contact nrhh@email.wcu.edu

Resident Student Association

The Resident Student Association (RSA) exists to benefit WCU students who reside on campus. RSA provides opportunities for students through programming and encourages students to suggest changes in the residence halls by utilizing resources on the campus, in the community, and at the state level in order to implement these changes. Any student who resides on the campus of Western Carolina University is a member of the Residential Student Association regardless of classification, race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Residential Living Employment

We offer more student work opportunities than any other department on campus, and we’d love for you to join our team as a student or graduate student. We execute the development, administration and management of all facilities, operations, and programming involving all 13 on-campus residence halls.

LEARN MORE

 Residential Living & Facilities Staff

Title Name Email
Director of Residential Facilities Tim Chapman chapmant@email.wcu.edu
Assistant Director of Residential Facilities Steven Leamon saleamon@email.wcu.edu
Facilities Maintenance Technician Brian Richmond berichmond@email.wcu.edu
Maintenance Mechanic Dale Putnam dputnam@email.wcu.edu
Maintenance Mechanic Mark Ray msray@email.wcu.edu
Housekeeping Supervisor Carrie Shuler clshuler@email.wcu.edu
Housekeeping Supervisor Zara Shick zpshick@email.wcu.edu
Assistant Director for Operations James Thomas jwthomas@email.wcu.edu
Director for Conference Services Devon Nease dnease@email.wcu.edu
Room Assignments Coordinator Lisa Surber surber@email.wcu.edu
Operations Assistant Ami Williams amiwilliams@email.wcu.edu
Financial Transactions Manager Rita Dills dillsrk@email.wcu.edu
Student Mail Center Supervisor Lisa Wilson ldwilson@email.wcu.edu
Director of Residence Life Mistie Bibbee bibbee@email.wcu.edu
Assistant Director of Residence Life Laura Allison leallison@email.wcu.edu
RD Albright/Benton Mei-Lan Kaenzig mkaenzig@email.wcu.edu
RD Balsam & Blue Ridge Zachary Williams zfwilliams@email.wcu.edu
RD Harrill & Central Drive Andrew Murray pamurray@email.wcu.edu
RD Norton Road & The Village Jessica Barnes jrbarnes@email.wcu.edu
RD Scott Hall Trent Mortimer tmmortimer@email.wcu.edu
RD Walker Courtney Weaver cnweaver@email.wcu.edu
Graduate Community Coordinator, Buchanan & Madison Myranda Floyd mpfloyd@email.wcu.edu
Graduate Community Coordinator, Central Drive Suzanne Rose sdrose@email.wcu.edu
Graduate Community Coordinator, Reynolds & Robertson Brittany Cotton bacotton@email.wcu.edu
Graduate Community Coordinator, Scott Hall Meredith Oakley mnoakley@email.wcu.edu
Graduate Community Coordinator, The Village Terry Chavis tchavis@email.wcu.edu
Graduate Community Coordinator, Walker Morgan Hudson mehudson@email.wcu.edu
Assistant Director for Academic Partnerships Annaleise Camacho atcamacho@email.wcu.edu
Residential Case Manager Brian Boyer bboyer@email.wcu.edu
Residential Case Manager Veratta Pegram-Floyd vsfloyd@email.wcu.edu
Office of Web Services