Mountain Heritage Award Winners

WCU's Mountain Heritage Award is given "in recognition of outstanding contributions to the preservation or interpretation of the history and culture of Southern Appalachia; or in recognition of outstanding contributions to research in, or interpretation of, Southern Appalachian issues." Award winners are chosen by a special committee of regional and campus representatives.

Chancellor David Belcher (right in both photos) and Provost Alison Morrison-Shetlar present Mountain Heritage Awards:

MHD Award group Dogwood Crafters

Mountain Heritage Award for a group: Dogwood Crafters

MHD Award individual George Frizzell

Mountain Heritage Award to an individual: George Frizzell

List of Award Winners

2016 Dogwood Crafters

2016 George Frizzell

2015 Mountain Faith (group)

2015 R. O. Wilson (individual)

2014 Bethel Rural Community Organization (group)

2014 Davy Arch (individual)

2013 Catch the Spirit of Appalachia (group)

2013 Susan Leveille (individual)

2012 Jackson County Genealogical Society (group)

2012 Rob Tiger (individual)

2011 Stecoah Valley Center (group)

2011 Lloyd Arneach (individual)

2010 Shindig on the Green (group)

2010 Annie Lee Bryson (individual)

2009 Great Smoky Mountains National Park (group)

2009 Amanda Swimmer (individual)

2008 Green Grass Cloggers (group)

2008 Gar Mosteller and Doyle Barker (individual)

2007 Warriors of Ani-Kituah (group)

2007 Arvil Freeman (individual)

2005 Haywood Community College Professional Crafts Program (group)

2006 The Deitz Family (individual)

2004 Walker Calhoun

2003 Ray Hicks

2002 Mountain Dance and Folk Festival

2001 Young Adult Choir, Tried Stone Missionary Baptist Church

2000 Southern Highland Craft Guild

1999 Mary Jane Queen and the Queen Family

1998 Museum of the Cherokee Indian

1997 Cradle of Forestry in America

1996 Robert Bushyhead

1995 Bea Hensley

1994 William Douglas Davis

1993 John C. Campbell Folk School

1992 Qualla Arts and Crafts Mutual

1991 Hugh Morton

1990 Joe Parker Rhinehart

1989 Mary Cornwell

1988 Mars Hill College

1987 Jackson County Historical Association

1986 Mary Ulmer Chiltosky

1985 Penland School of Crafts

1984 Old Buncombe Genealogical Society

1983 John B. Battle

1982 Douglas James Ferguson

1981 Asheville Citizen-Times Publishing Co.

1980 Henry Arvel Greene and Jane Parton Greene

1979 H. F. Robinson

1978 Leona T. Hayes

1977 Cherokee Historical Association

1976 John Parris

Office of Web Services