Advising & Registration

Advising

 

An advisor is assigned to you after you have been accepted to a distance learning program.

If you have any questions regarding who your advisor is please feel free to contact us. Prior to contacting your advisor please review a copy of your degree audit/evaluation.

 

Distance Learning Advisors

Business majors

Business Law, Alexandra Watson, cobdistance@wcu.edu
Entrepreneurship-GR, Dr. Robert J. Lahm, Jr., 828-227-3295 or rjlahm@wcu.edu
Innovation Leadership and Entrepreneurship-UG, Alexandra Watson, cobdistance@wcu.edu
Human Resources, Dr. John Sherlock, 828-227-3380 or sherlock@wcu.edu
Project Management, Dr. Vittal Anantatmula, 828-227-3990 or vittal@wcu.edu

education majors

AIG, Greg McLamb 828.227.3755 or gmclamb@email.wcu.edu
Birth - Kindergarten, Last name E-O Deb Henry 828-227-3313 or dchenry@email.wcu.edu
                                    Last name A-D and P-Z, Greg McLamb 828.227.3755 or gmclamb@email.wcu.edu
M.A.Ed. in Special Education, Greg McLamb 828.227.3755 or gmclamb@email.wcu.edu
M.A.T in Special Education, Greg McLamb 828.227.3755 or gmclamb@email.wcu.edu
Post Master's Certificate in Public School Licensure, Dr. Ann Allen, 828-227-7310 or alallen@wcu.edu

health majors

Emergency Medical Care, Dr. Michael Hubble, 828-227-3516 or mhubble@wcu.edu
Health Sciences, Brian Raming, 828-227-3512 or bwraming@email.wcu.edu
Nurse Administration-Grad. Cert., Jessi Shirley, 828-670-8810 ext.221 or jshirley@wcu.edu
Nurse Educator-Grad. Cert., Jessi Shirley, 828-670-8810 ext. 228 or jshirley@wcu.edu
RN to BSN, Jessi Shirley, 828-670-8810 ext. 228 or jshirley@wcu.edu

other majors

Construction Management, Dr. George Ford, 828-227-2519 or gford@wcu.edu
Criminal Justice, Aaron Vassey, pavassey@wcu.edu
CJ/EDM Liberal Studies, Paul Denkenberger, 828-227-2737 or rpdenkenberger@wcu.edu
Emergency & Disaster Management, Aaron Vassey, pavassey@wcu.edu
Engineering Technology, Dr. Amber Thompson, 828-227-2517 or acthompson@wcu.edu

 
More Information



The degree audit allows you to check on what courses you have remaining on your path to degree completion.

*The degree audit feature will not provide accurate information until your complete transcript information has been evaluated.

How do I run a degree audit?

How to Read the Degree Audit

After begin admitted to WCU, you can register for classes through the myWCU system using the instructions below.

How do I search for classes?
How do I register for classes?

If you have problems logging into myWCU, please contact the IT Help Desk at 866-928-7487. If you have problems registering, please contact Educational Outreach toll-free at 1-866-928-4723.


Accessing Your Classes

You can access your course content using Blackboard starting on the first official day of class. If you do not see any content in your course(s) after the first day of class, contact the professor(s) or the IT Help Desk, 828.227.7487.

Taking a class at another school after you are enrolled at WCU

On occasion you may find it necessary to take a course at another institution while you are enrolled at WCU. For liberal studies course, you may consult the Liberal Studies Matrix to locate options for taking these courses online from another institution. You will need to complete a transient permission form after you have registered for the course. For liberal studies courses you will submit the form to Distance Learning at distance@wcu.edu for program classes you will need to submit the form to your advisor.

Schedule of Classes

The Dynamic Schedule is the best resource for viewing the schedule of classes. Here is a helpful guide for using this tool: How Do I Search for Classes?

Withdrawing from a Class

Please review the Withdrawal Policy before withdrawing from a course. If you decide withdrawal is necessary, here are the instructions.

    • Log into myWCU
    • Click "Personal Services" in "Quick Links" box, Click "Student" tab, Click "Registration" box, Select "Withdrawal Options", Select "Withdraw from a Course

OR

    • Click "Menu" icon (top left on myWCU Student Homepage), Click "CLASSES & REGISTRATION", Click "Withdraw from a Course"

AND

    • Review the information about Course Withdrawal Eligibility
    • Click "I would like to withdraw from a course" button
    • Click in circle to the left of the course(s) that you want to withdraw from
    • Click "Withdraw from Selected Course" button

Withdrawing from all courses during a term requires a student to withdraw from the university - click this University Withdrawals link to view policies and instructions.

Bookstore

We have created a helpful guide to ordering books. How Do I Find and Order Textbooks? If you are not able to find the required textbooks on the bookstore's web page, please contact the course professor to request the information.

Office of Web Services