About the College of Arts and Sciences

The School of Arts and Sciences was created in 1967 and led by founding Dean, Gerald Eller.  The School became the College of Arts and Sciences in 1994.  Currently, the College consists of 11 academic departments, 5 interdisciplinary majors, and 8 interdisciplinary minors. There are approximately 1,700 undergraduate majors, 160 graduate students, and 180 full-time faculty members in the College.

To find out more about the College of Arts and Sciences. Read our mission statement and by-laws (PDF), meet the dean and our administration and staff, and visit the departments for information on academic programs.


Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services