Counseling Faculty

The Counseling Program has seven full-time faculty (pictured above). These faculty members comprise a diverse group whose expertise reflects professional experience in a variety of clinical settings, including public schools, university clinics, mental health settings, and private practice. All full-time faculty engage in teaching, research, service, and professional involvements and are committed to providing a challenging and supportive learning environment.

Photo, from left to right:   front- Dr. Lisen Roberts,  Dr. E. Heather Thompson
                                        back- Dr. Russell Curtis, Dr. Phyllis Robertson, Dr. Melodie Frick, Dr. Dale Brotherton, Dr. Valerie Schwiebert.


Dr. W. Dale Brotherton Professor; Department Head
Dr. Russell C. Curtis Associate Professor; Clinical Mental Health Counseling Program Leader
Dr. Melodie Frick Assistant Professor; Clinical Mental Health Field Placement Coordinator
Dr. Lisen Roberts Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. Phyllis Robertson Associate Professor; School Counseling Program Leader & School Counseling Field Placement Coordinator
Dr. Valerie L. Schwiebert Professor
Dr. Heather Thompson Associate Professor

Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services