Paul A. Reid Distinguished Service Award

These awards are among the most prestigious honors conferred by Western Carolina University. They are made possible through the generosity of Dr. Paul A. Reid (1902-1982) who twice served as president of the University. 

Two awards are given each year.  One award is for distinguished service by a faculty member; the other is for distinguished service by a member of the administrative staff.  The faculty and the staff recipients of the award each receive $1,000 and a plaque commemorating his or her selection.  The awards are to be conferred at the Spring General Faculty Meeting and Awards Convocation and recipients are also honored at the spring commencement ceremony.

Criteria for the Award

Faculty Nominations

Staff Nominations

Winners of the Paul A. Reid Distinguished Service Awards


Year Administrative Staff Winners Faculty Winners                     
2016 Jane Adams-Dunford Ann Johnson
2015 Keith Corzine Betty Farmer
2014 Robert T. Edwards  
2013 Dianne G. Lynch Robert S. Young
2012 Beth Tyson-Lofquist Phyllis Robertson
2011 William Frady Tracy Lynn Zontek
2010 Richard "Rich" L. Kucharski C. Dale Carpenter
2009 Roger Turk Jamie Davis
2008 Bill Studenc Mickey Randolph
2007 Patricia L. Miller C. Don Livingston
2006 Fred D. Hinson Scott Philyaw
2005 Tom Frazier George DeSain
2004 Gene McAbee Sharon Jacques
2003 Andy Degrove Robert Buckner
2002 Judy H. Dowell Bill Ogletree
2001 Benjamin F. Ward Alfred W. Wiggins
2000 William J. Kirwan Terry L. Kinnear
1999 Robert L. Orr None
1998 Stephen White Gordon E. Mercer
1997 Malcolm J. Loughlin Clifford R. Lovin
1996 R. Randy Rice Kathleen S. Wright
1995 George C. Wooten William Kane
1994 Harry E. Ramsey Susan C. Persons
1993 C. J. Carter Max R. Williams
1992 Michael D. Creason J. Dan Pittillo
1991 Mary S. Parris Ralph H. Willis
1990 W. Douglas Davis Fred D. Hinson
1989 F. Merton Cregger Otto H. Spilker
1988 Gurney E. Chambers A. Michael Dougherty
1987 Susie R. Ray James W. Wallace
1986 Harriet M. Parker Dan K. Southern
1985 Aaron Hyatt J. C. Alexander
1984 Cecil Ward Marilyn Jody
1983 Robert E. Stoltz Judith Stillion
1982 Colleen C. Jakes Joel Milner
1981 Jesse Flake Jane Schulz
1980 A. Douglas Reed Robert Rigdon
1979 Robert L. Waters Roger Lumb
1978 Tyree H. Kiser Helen Hartshorn


2015-2016 Paul A. Reid Committee Members

Stacy MacGregor, Chair
Laura McFalls
Phyllis Robertson
Ben Tholkes
Suzanne Tobin
Wardell Townsend
Bill Yanag



Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services