Judy H. Dowell Outstanding Support Staff Award

The Judy H. Dowell Outstanding Support Staff Award is given annually to a current non-exempt SPA employee for outstanding service at WCU.  These employees, WCU’s support staff, are a most important segment of the University as they provide services essential to its operation, and it is certainly fitting that they have an opportunity to be honored for excellence. 

A $1,000 cash award will be given to the winner and this individual will be recognized at the annual Spring Awards Convocation. 

Dependability, cooperative spirit, loyalty to the University, and effectiveness in performing assigned duties are qualities to be considered in your selection. 

Guidelines and Procedures for the Support Staff Award

Judy H. Dowell Outstanding Support Staff Winners

2016 Irene Welch
2015 Sheila Frizzell
2014 Glenna R. Young
2013 Dawne J. Coward
2012 Shirley Beck
2011 Virginia L. "Jenny" Owen
2010 Rosemarie "Rosie" Greenwood
2009 Cindi Magill
2008 Mark Haskett
2007 Clifton Fisher
2006 Irene Welch
2005 Faye Deitz
2004 Johnny Brooks
2003 Norma Medford
2002 Shirley Bateman
2001 Susan Winchester
2000 Betty Littrell
1999 Lynda G. McNeely
1998 Carolyn B. Wiggins
1997 Mary Lou Millwood
1996 Peggy L. Eidson
1995 Mildred J. Wilson
1994 Frances C. Jolicoeur
1993 Arbra M. Gibson
1992 Wanda G. Ashe
1991 Dorothy M. Love
1990 David L. Bennett
1989 Kathleen M. Owen
1988 Deborah W. Sims
1987 Nina C. Crawford
1986 Samuel Willard Beck
1985 Mamie L. Tate
1984 Owen E. Aldridge

2015-2016 Committee

Cindy Williams, Chair
Fred Bauknecht
Brian Boyer
Natalie Broom
Sheila Frizzell
Tammy Frizzell
Steven Leamon
Marlon Morgan
Emily Walker


Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services