Mountain Heritage Award Winners
Mountain Heritage Award Winners


Bethel Rural Community Organization 

WCU Provost Alison Morrison-Shetlar presents the Bethel Rural Community Organization with the Mountain Heritage Award (organization).

Davy Arch

Davy Arch shows his Mountain Heritage Award as presented by WCU Provost Alison Morisson-Shetlar.


List of Award Winners

1976               John Parris   - more information here.

1977               Cherokee Historical Association

1978               Leona T. Hayes    - more information here.

1979               H. F. Robinson   - more information here.

1980               Henry Arvel Greene and  Jane Parton Greene

1981               Asheville Citizen-Times Publishing Co.    - more information here.

1982               Douglas James Ferguson    - more information here.

1983               John B. Battle   - more information here.

1984               Old Buncombe Genealogical Society

1985               Penland School of Crafts   - more information here.

1986               Mary Ulmer Chiltosky    - more information here.

1987               Jackson County Historical Association   - more information here.

1988               Mars Hill College   - more information here

1989               Mary Cornwell   - more information here

1990               Joe Parker Rhinehart    - more information here.

1991               Hugh Morton   - more information here

1992               Qualla Arts and Crafts Mutual     - more information here

1993               John C. Campbell Folk School     - more information here

1994               William Douglas Davis    - more information here

1995               Bea Hensley    - more information here.

1996               Robert Bushyhead     - more information here

1997               Cradle of Forestry in America     - more information here

1998               Museum of the Cherokee Indian

1999               Mary Jane Queen and the Queen Family    - more information here.

2000               Southern Highland Craft Guild     - more information here

2001               Young Adult Choir, Tried Stone Missionary Baptist Church   - more information here.

2002               Mountain Dance and Folk Festival   

2003               Ray Hicks     

2004               Walker Calhoun      

2005               Haywood Community College Professional Crafts Program

2006               The Deitz Family    - more information here.

2007               Warriors of Ani-Kituah (group)

2007               Arvil Freeman (individual)

2008               Green Grass Cloggers (group)

2008               Gar Mosteller and Doyle Barker (individual)

2009               Great Smoky Mountains National Park (group)

2009               Amanda Swimmer (individual)    - more information here.

2010               Shindig on the Green (group)

2010               Annie Lee Bryson (individual)

2011               Stecoah Valley Center (group)

2011               Lloyd Arneach (individual)

2012              Jackson County Genealogical Society (group)   - more information here.

2012              Rob Tiger (individual)   - more information here.

2013            Catch the Spirit of Appalachia (group)   - more information here

2013            Susan Leveille (individual)    - more information here

2014            Bethel Rural Community Organization    - more information here

2014            Davy Arch   - more information here


Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services